Parque Ecologico Del Poniente

A few images from this morning’s photo shoot at Parque Ecologico del Poniente (Eco Park West) here in Merida, Yucatan.  This morning it was special, because my fellow photog John accompanied me (and it’s always nice to have company).  He was test-shooting my backup camera and lens:  the Canon EOS 40D body with the Tamron SP 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 VC Di HSM telephoto zoom lens.  I’ve bragged about both on more than one occasion.  I will be upgrading my camera body to the Canon EOS 5D Mk3 (I currently have the Mk2), and relegating my Mk2 to the role of backup camera.  I will also be adding Canon’s venerable EF 70-200mm f/4L USM telephoto zoom lens to complement my Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM super telephoto (the body and lens I used today to capture these images).

The Great Egret was there, as was the Great Blue Heron (which I missed, but I think John got a couple of terrific shots), a White Juvenile Little Blue Heron (I think) and the ever-present Grackles (who are obnoxious birds related to the Crows and Ravens, but they photograph nice and crisp).  I also ‘think’ I saw a Snowy Egret (with its yellow feet), but I didn’t get a shot of it.  I also captured a shot of John … a most illusive critter himself.

Finishing our shoot at the park we adjourned to Cafe la Boheme on Paseo de Montejo for morning coffee, cigars and breakfast (John passed on the cigars).  Good morning all-in-all and, as usual, I enjoyed myself.  Anytime with a camera (and the added benefit of a friend) is a good time indeed.  Enjoy the photos mi amigos. 

IMG_9741_W

John – 400mm, 1/2656s @ f/5.6 ISO 2000

IMG_9724_W

Grackle – 400mm, 1/2656s @ f/6.3 ISO 3200

IMG_9717_W

Great Egret – 400mm, 1/2656s @ f/5.6 ISO 320

IMG_9759_A_W

Great Egret – 400mm, 1/2656s @ f/5.6 ISO 160

IMG_9572_W

White Juvenile Little Blue Heron (I think) – 400mm, 1/1000s @ f/5.6 ISO 500

IMG_9636_A

White Juvenile Little Blue Heron (I think) – 400mm, 1/1000s @ f/5.6 ISO 320

4 responses to “Parque Ecologico Del Poniente

  1. Great photos as always, Steve. Of course, my favorite is the rare red and tan specimen with the white fringe at the top of the page. Thanks for showing him a fun morning!

    • It was my pleasure. I usually shoot solo, but he is a great photog buddy, because he’s off doing his own thing (and not chattering the whole time). It was a very enjoyable morning, and coffee and breakfast and conversation made it perfect. Anytime he wants to go out, or discuss photography or anything else for that matter, I’m available. Understand you guys will be heading to Rio Lagartos to band birds later on, I think you will have a wonderful time. I should be heading back to Celestun for about 3-days in mid-April, and then plan on going up to Rio Lagartos to do some shooting there. Hopefully, Joel and I will be heading over to Cuba in the next few months for 2 to 4 weeks to photograph and write about that island before it changes too much. Fidel and Raul are getting old, and things will change fast once they’re gone.

  2. Great photos (both animal and human) however I take exception to the Grackle slur 🙂 Your bird identification skills are really being honed I see. I’m impressed by the juvenile Little Blue Heron ID. I saw one on my trip but had to ask for help in the identification.

Leave a Reply

