An Amazing Visit

We just spent this past week visiting with our very best female friend in the whole wide world.  Actually, it’s more than that (no, not that much more), but it’s complicated.  I would have included some great photos of her on this post, but she hasn’t had time to review them yet, and give her final seal of approval (I hope she does, because she is one of those beautiful women who doesn’t think she is—there are a lot of you girls out there that seem to feel that way).

During her stay we rode over to Celestun for three days (on our motor scooters—and, yes, she was brave enough to ride as my passenger both ways).  So, until (or if) she gives her permission to post some really nice pics, you will just have to make do with some more wildlife photos from Celestun.  All images were captured with my Canon EOS 5D Mk2 camera and EF 400mm f/5.6L USM prime super telephoto lens:

IMG_0407

Bare-throated Tiger Heron (Rare) – 1/4000s @ f/5.6 ISO 250

IMG_0178_W

Roseate Spoobill – 1/4000s @ f/6.3 ISO 1600

IMG_0180_W

Roseate Spoonbill – 1/4000s @ f/6.3 ISO 3200

IMG_0181_W

Roseate Spoonbill – 1/4000s @ f/5.6 ISO 2000

IMG_0210_W

Frigatebirds – 1/4000s @ f/6.3 ISO 320

IMG_0212_W

Frigatebird – 1/4000s @ f/6.3 ISO 400

IMG_0223_W

Frigatebirds – 1/4000s @ f/5.6 ISO 320

IMG_0224_W

Frigatebird – 1/4000s @ f/5.6 ISO 160

IMG_0383_W

Great Blue Heron – 1/4000s @ f/6.3 ISO 320

IMG_0384_W

Great Blue Heron – 1/4000s @ f/5.6 ISO 250

10 responses to “An Amazing Visit

  1. Well I particularly like your Tiger Heron. I too saw them in Celestun, they’re beautiful. Unfortunately I’m back in Ohio. My four weeks in Mexico were terrific. Barbara

    “Exp

    • Doris, Those Frigatebirds are really something. I would like to go back and rephotograph them. I’ve never been up that close before, I usually see them flying way up high. If fact we got so close I couldn’t fit them in the frame with my 400mm at times (and that’s close). Thanks always for your kind comments. Steve

  2. What great shots. I liked the first shot of the Frigatebirds what a wingspan.

    Steve! We have a view window in our kitchen and it has a metal sun shade. We had the pleasure of seeing two finches guard and hatch their babies. Two of the babies have already taken flight and there are two more left that can’t seem to get up the nerve to take flight.

    Sorry girls but the male finch is the beauty and colorful and the female is just a plain drab grey. Ha! Ha!

  3. Wow! Love the shots of the Tiger Heron, Spoonbill and Great Blue Heron! Those would look beautiful as paintings as well!

    • Your wish is my command. I just posted a watercolor version with pen & ink overlay of the two herons a few minutes ago. I didn’t like the spoonbill version so I left it out.

Leave a Reply

