Iguana Love

IGUANA Color Framed

(Click image to enlarge)

I admit it:  I’m in love with Iguanas.  And Mexico has a ton of Iguanas—remember, they even made a movie starring Richard Burton and Ava Gardner called:  Night of the Iguana. Hell of a movie by the way.  We have our own large Iguana in the backyard, his name is Brutus.  All Maya Ruin sites have tons of Iguanas (usually huge ones).  We even had a very large Iguana curled up in our front door when we returned home from breakfast at Cafe la Boheme a few mornings ago.  And then there’s this guy I photographed last week on Isla Mujeres.  I found him perched high on the rocks (basking in the sun) overlooking the Caribbean at Punta Sur.

IGUANA BW Framed

(Click on image to enlarge)

7 responses to “Iguana Love

  1. Hi Stephen,
    With all due respect to most of God’s creatures, if I put these Iguanas’ pics
    up in my home, I wouldn’t be able to enter my house again.
    But I do admire your photography skills w/ everything you shoot.
    I loved the photo of the little rustic home w/ the laundry hanging every which way.
    It’s just perfectly composed w/ the geometry and placement of color. It’s beautiful!!
    Keep well,
    Judy

    • Thank you Judy, I’ve been getting a lot compliments on the laundry photo and also the Abandoned Hotel (on Isla Mujeres) photo. I will probably be having both printed on large canvases (3 x 5 feet) for sale to the expat community down here in Merida. They love the large canvases, because these old colonial homes have a lot of wall space. I would like to get a couple more sales under my belt before visiting Cuba in November.

  2. Cool Iguana! I love them too even though I’ve only seen them once in my life. BTW, I liked the photos of you in one of the previous posts. The photographer is not the subject of photos often enough. 🙂

    • Well thank you Doris … I get requests from folks who haven’t seen me in awhile to post photos of myself. The thing is, I really don’t change that much. Sometimes a beard, sometimes a mustache … and, of course, older. I think that you would have such a good time photographing down here (and it’s warmer than Canada). Joel and I are off to San Cristobal (in the Mexican State of Chiapas) in a week or two. Stopping off in Palenque (also in Chiapas) to photograph the ruins, waterfalls and Howler Monkeys. We’ll probably be gone about a month, but I’m bring my computer with me on this trip. San Cristobal will be cold, it’s up in the mountains at about 7,500 feet (it won’t be tropical like here in Yucatan). Hopefully Cuba in November or December. Take care my friend.

  3. I enjoy cemeteries in foreign places as most of them are a treasure trove of
    history. Your lovely shot reminded me of a village, Inverigo, near Lake Como,
    where my sister and family lived in a converted farmhouse w/ a view of the Italian
    alps. I decided to take a stroll through the town by myself and came across a
    beautifully maintained small Cemetery. I was awestruck by the lovely ironwork and
    abundance of fresh flowers. I had taken a bunch of daffodils from my sister’s
    garden. Suddenly, I came around a little corner to a magnificent bronze statue
    of a boy about 8 yrs. He was standing in flowers. One hand was outstretched w/ a
    small hole by his thumb (for holding flowers). I immediately filled his hand w/ the
    daffodils. I stood back to look at this work of art w/ daffodils; it was such a touching moment, my eyes filled w/ tears. I think this was truly an Italian experience. He came alive to me, his name was Leonardo…

    I then cheered myself up by going into a Butcher shop to get some Mortadella
    and a selection of salames for our pre-dinner snack and to tell my story.
    Sorry this is so long, but your photo instantly brought back this memory and I
    had to share.
    Thanks, Judy

    Then I left and got all cheery again as I visited a Butcher shop and took some
    Mortadella and Soprasata salame back to the farmhouse for a pre-dinner snack
    and to tell my story.

    • I loved your story Judy. It’s those kinds of memories that make world travel so worthwhile. It’s NOT the resorts, it’s the small community cemeteries, churches, markets … and, of course, the people.

Leave a Reply

