Maya Roots

Roots & Wall BW Framed

Maya Roots

(Click on image to enlarge)

(Click for presentation & pricing options)

I love the ancient gnarled tree roots you find in the world’s jungles.  From Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos to Costa Rica, Peru and Mexico—they always look mysterious and magical.  And I am especially drawn to their mystery when they are busy reclaiming Man’s feeble efforts to civilize those ancient jungle habitats.  Nature always wins, and will win again in the long run.  “Man is but a temporary blip on the radar of eternity”  – not a bad quote if I do say so myself (paraphrased from similar quotes).  This scene is no different from many I’ve seen during my travels, but it grabs me anew every single time I see it.  Give me some ancient ruins, in this case Maya, some old trees doing their thing, and you have MAGIC.  To me Black & White enhances the magic, allowing the viewer to concentrate on form rather than color.  This was photographed in Parque Nacional Palenque, Chiapas, Mexico last week.

Photographer’s notes:  Captured with my Canon EOS 5D Mk2 camera and Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM zoom travel lens in CameraRAW.  Converted in PSE11 and then processed HDR.  Final edits and conversion to B&W in PSE11.  Camera settings:  1/25s @ f/4.0, ISO 100, FL=24mm.

Leave a Reply

