El Perro De San Cristobal

El Perro signed and Framed

El Perro de San Cristobal (The Dog of San Cristobal)

(Click on image to enlarge)

Canon PowerShot G15 camera – 1/250s @ f/2.8, ISO 80, FL=140mm

(Click here for presentation & pricing options)

El Perro (The Dog) of San Cristobal:  Rendered in Classic Pen & Ink with a Watercolor Wash.  Back in my artist (painter) days, this form of expression was one of my favorites;  I found it less tedious and heavy than a Classical Oil Painting—I still favor this style of painting over others for certain images.  I met this furry friend on my hillside descent from photographing the small city of San Cristobal de las Casas in Chiapas, MX nestled in the surrounding mountains at 7,000 feet.  He was well-behaved, looked healthy and happy, and posed patiently while I snapped away with my camera.  I loved his soft brown look backdropped by the more vibrant colors of Mexico—the juxtaposition of shapes and colors intrigued me from the moment I saw them, and that feeling was only intensified after the final post-edit processing of the image.

Photographer’s note:  Captured with my small (but powerful) Canon PowerShot G15 camera (my pro backup shooter). The original digital image was post-edited in PSE11, and then converted to this painting style using Corel Painter Essentials 4 software.  Although my G15 is a smaller camera (with a smaller sensor) this high-resolution image will easily enlarge to a maximum size of 24 x 30 inches.  My preferred presentation style is a Matted & Framed Print on quality watercolor paper, however other styles include Canvas Prints, Acrylic Prints, Metal Prints and Fine Art Prints.

Leave a Reply

