Parque Ecologico Del Poniente

Green Heron Framed

Green Heron (Butorides virescens)

(Click on image to enlarge)

(Click here for size & presentation options)

Parque Ecologico del Poniente (or simply Eco Park), is a beautiful park located about five to ten minutes away from my casa by scooter (depending on traffic).  I hadn’t been there in a few months, so bright and early this morning I hopped on the scoot to visit the park for some early shooting.  Upon arrival I quickly noticed that the water level was way up, and that many of the footpaths were completely submerged.  The heavy rains of the past few weeks appears to have been the main culprit.  It was slim pickings for subjects to shoot, but I did find my old friend the Green Heron.  He was way up in a tree, obstructed by twigs and branches and in deep shade with a blown out background (sky).  Horrible shooting conditions.  After watching him patiently for about twenty minutes he finally stepped clear of some of the tangle, and although still in deep shade I snapped this photo of him.  With some care, and judicious use of Photoshop, I was able to salvage a halfway decent image—and, in fact, it turned out very Audubon-like (John James Audubon: French-American ornithologist, naturalist and painter).

Photographer’s note:  Captured in CameraRAW with my Canon EOS 5D Mk2 camera and Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM super telephoto lens.  RAW conversion and basic edits were completed in PSE11.  Stylistically I lightened the shadows, dampened the the highlights and boosted color saturation a tad.  Adding the white vignette helped to complete the Audubon effect.  Camera settings:  1/1000s @ f/5.6, ISO 3200, FL=400mm.  Shot handheld (no tripod). Although shot at a fairly high ISO (3200), this is a ‘High Resolution’ image, and fully capable of enlargement to a maximum size of 32 x 40 inches. 

5 responses to “Parque Ecologico Del Poniente

  1. This is a really great photo Steve, but no fair. We were there two days ago and I didn’t see anything. Just didn’t know where to look I guess. Pam from Oklahoma

    • Hey Pam,

      Thank you for your nice comment. Sorry I missed you. I was lucky in that I saw him fly into the tree out of the corner of my eye. But it was tough getting a decent image of him as I explained in the post. Thank God for Photoshop, it helped me get the best out of what otherwise would have been a mediocre shot. My brother and I just got back from a month in Chiapas (beautiful), and we’ll be leaving Merida behind no later than April. Time to continue with the world travels. Hope to see you around sometime.

      Steve Stephen F. Dennstedt Indochine Photography INTERNATIONAL

      Expat Journal http://www.IndochinePhotography.com http://www.Facebook.com/Stephen.Dennstedt

Leave a Reply

