Gulls Can Be Beautiful Too

Gull on Beach Framed 2 w IPI

1.  Seagull Strolling the Beach

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo, MX

(Click on image to enlarge)

Even common gulls, though not exotic, can be beautiful.  Some of the very first prototype gliders were modeled on the flight characteristics of the seagull.  John Joseph Montgomery (1858-1911) is one of the early inventors who used birds (especially gulls) to design his early aircraft—and in 1884 Montgomery, a native of Yuba City, California, made the first manned, controlled, heavier-than-air flight in the United States using a glider in the Otay Mesa area of San Diego (where I was born and raised).  This was 19-years before Orville and Wilbur Wright made their historic ‘powered’ flight in Kitty Hawk, North Carolina. I have visited Otay Mesa many times, and have walked the very hills where Montgomery soared his early contraptions.

Gull on Beach Framed 1 w IPI

2.  Seagull Strolling the Beach

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo, MX

(Click on image to enlarge)

Photographer’s note:  Both images were photographed on Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo, MX, 21 Sep 2013.  Captured in CameraRAW with my Canon EOS 5D Mk2 camera and Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM zoom lens.  RAW conversion and minor post-edits completed in PSE11; matted & framed in Big Huge Labs.  Camera settings:  1.  1/1000s @ f/8, ISO 100, FL=200mm, TV-Priority, Handheld; 2.  1/1000s @ f/9, ISO 100, FL=200mm, TV-Priority Handheld.  Helpful hint when shooting shore birds:  Get down on your hands & knees so you’re shooting from ground level, and not from up above the subject—it is a much more pleasing perspective.

 

6 responses to “Gulls Can Be Beautiful Too

  1. I’m just curious….how many times did you have a wave knock you and camera over while you were down at the birds eye level? …..I was just imagining what a good photo THAT would make! 😉

    • Boy that’s a blast from the past alright. I enjoyed it too, and it was such a novel idea when it first came out … caught everyone by surprise. I have a First Edition (signed I think) in my collection, which I gave to my son when I left the States. I one of the few people I know that actually likes Seagulls. But I bet YOU do too. Am I right? 🙂

      • You sure are right. I love to hear them and watch them (and of course photograph them)! Karen’s comment regarding her sculpture reminded me that I had a hanging seagull too for awhile but don’t remember what happened to it. Ah … the good old days. 🙂

    • I loved that book too! I actually had a lightweight seagull hanging sculpture for years and years (inspired by that book) …it disappeared in one of my moves. Seagulls are fascinating to watch…but then…I love all birds! I grew up in Alpena, Michigan (USA) on Lake Huron, so saw lots of them!

Leave a Reply

