NatGeo Top 10 Images

National GeographicI’ve been submitting images to my National Geographic portfolio for two weeks now, and so far I’m receiving good initial response to my work which is very encouraging.  The number of people favoriting my images is consistently inline with other professional photographer’s submitting their work for consideration.  All levels of photography are represented, but it’s primarily the other professional’s and serious amateurs that I am competing with on a daily basis.  I haven’t received any editorial recognition at this point, but I don’t know how far in arrears they are relative to viewing, critiquing and selecting images for recognition and publication—all I can do is to keep submitting my best work in the hopes of finally scoring.  Included are my NatGeo Top 10 images as voted on by the online viewers, and not necessarily my choice.  Click on individual images to enlarge.

Lion

#1  The King – 50 votes

Abandoned Hotel LR signed

#2  Abandoned Hotel – 19 votes

IMG_3834 LR Signed

#3  Lady Amherst’s Pheasant – 19 votes

Peacock IPI

#4  Portrait of a Peacock – 18 votes

Lioness

#5  Lioness – 17 votes

IMG_4936

#6  Jaguar – 17 votes

Morning Hanoi LR Signed

#7  Hanoi – 17 votes

Raptor with IPI

#8  Crested Caracara – 17 votes

Peacock Framed with IPI

#9 Peacock Display – 16 votes

Shirley Temple Curls with IPI

#10  Great Curassow – 14 votes

These would not necessarily be my choices, but I think that I’m not always the best judge of my own photography either.  I often prefer Black & White images over color, and street scenes over landscapes and wildlife—though, admittedly, wildlife is my personal favorite. The online viewing public typically chooses vivid color, and closeup animal portraits over my other images.  It will be interesting to see what the actual NatGeo editor’s select, when and if they do.  Anyway, it’s interesting to see what the viewing public prefers, because they are also the buying public.  To view the other images currently displayed in my portfolio, click on Contact > My NatGeo Portfolio (right hand toolbar).

IMG_0645 LR

Stephen F. Dennstedt

Indochine Photography International

* Expat Journal

* May NatGeo Porfolio

Leave a Reply

