Notice: Merida Customers & Patrons

Cuba Portrait WEB

Stephen F. Dennstedt

Indochine Photography International

After almost 2-1/2 years, the time for my departure from Merida is finally drawing close. I’ve stayed a little longer than I had originally planned, but the people of Merida have a way of holding you tight.  So many of you, locals and expats alike, have  become such good friends (and often times paying customers) that leaving will be very bittersweet indeed. You’ve welcomed me into your lives, hearts and homes with open arms.  And you’ve supported me financially by purchasing my photographic art and books.  An artist does not survive without his customers and patrons, and you’ve all been more than generous in that regard.  I’ve been enriched both personally and professionally.  Personally, by getting to know you—professionally by stretching my skills as the staff photographer for The Yucatan Times early on in my visit, and the magnificent opportunities I’ve had photographing Kaxil Kiuic Biocultural Rerserve and Puuc Jaguar Conservation, and my ongoing relationship with SoHo Galleries.  I won’t embarrass you all by mentioning everyone by name, but you know who you are.  And you have my thanks and sincere gratitude.

PLAYA ANCON SUNSET CUBA FIN ***

Sunset over Playa Ancon

Trinidad, Cuba

For the next few weeks I will be tying up loose ends, and that will include taking any final orders for my signed, limited edition, original photographic art.  Of course it will always be available on my Indochine Photography International website at www.IndochinePhotography.com, but while I’m still here you can purchase locally at significantly lower prices.  Why?  First and foremost, because Nic at SoHo Galleries does my printing for me.  Not only is he good, but his prices are very reasonable, and I’m able to pass those savings onto my local customers.  He can print large, with Canvas Prints reaching 3 x 5 feet in many cases (the walls of our local casas beg for large prints).  He can also arrange for custom matting and/or framing.  Finally, there are no shipping charges to incur, like you would from my printers in the USA.  This really isn’t a sales pitch, but I wanted everyone to have a last chance at buying locally before I shove off.

PLAYA ANCON EVENING FIN 2

Early Evening on Playa Ancon

Trinidad, Cuba

So where to next?  My brother Joel and I anticipate taking 1 to 1-1/2 years to slowly travel further south through Central America, with prolonged stays in Guatemala, Nicaragua and Costa Rica (maybe 3 months in each of those countries).  Shorter stays are planned for Belize, El Salvador, Honduras and Panama (anywhere from a few weeks to a month or two). The general plan calls for us to avoid the major tourist areas whenever possible, and to concentrate more on ecological preserves and the indigenous peoples of each visited country—you might say our motto will be:  to “Stay off the beaten track”.  I see a lot of “Chicken Buses” in our future.

JACO BEACH FIN

Jaco Beach

Puntarenas, Costa Rica

After Central America it’s on to South America.  Current thinking places us in Ecuador for a couple of years while we pursue our bucket list:  the Amazon, Galapagos, Machu Picchu, Easter Island and Patagonia.  Colombia, Peru, Bolivia, Chili and Argentina are all “must see” countries, and the rest we’ll play by ear.  Following South America it’s back to asia (especially southeast asia:  Cambodia, Laos, Burma, Thailand and Vietnam).  India, Nepal, Tibet and Bhutan are all on the list, as is Mongolia if we can swing it.  Africa is a fantasy trip at this point, but maybe if I sell enough artwork, and Joel scores a book deal we can make that happen.  I just hope we have enough years left to put a real dent in this itinerary. We’re leaving, but we’re not disappearing.  Many of you have our email address, and a large number of you follow us on Facebook—and of course there’s this blog.

IMG_5362 HDR

Sian Ka’an

Quintana Roo, Mexico

If you look to your right, in the RH toolbar you will see Portfolios.  Under Portfolios you can access any of my three online galleries:  Indochine Portfolio; My 1X.com Portfolio; My NatGeo Portfolio.  If you see anything you like, then email me at Stephen.Dennstedt@YMail.com for a (very good) price quote & delivery schedule. Remember, Merida customers get special low pricing coupled with no shipping.

2 responses to “Notice: Merida Customers & Patrons

  1. Steve, you’ll be rolling into the jaguar’s den when you leave Merida. (Some very mean dudes along those jungle roads!) I do hope all these gorgeous sunset photos aren’t your last. Be wise, buddy.

    • Shouldn’t be any problem Erich . . . we’ve decided to sell the scooters before we leave, so we’ll be using public transportation instead. We’re usually pretty careful when we travel, and we appear larger than we really are. Plus, I can put a good scowl on my face if need be. And I am way too old to be a hero anymore. But we’ll take care, thanks for your concern.

Leave a Reply

