White On White

White on White Framed

White on White

(Great Egret)

Santee Lakes, Santee (San Diego Country), CA, USA

I photographed this large, and very beautiful, snow-white Great Egret at Santee Lakes, in San Diego County, shortly before I left the United States for Yucatan, Mexico.  They are gorgeous birds, especially when in flight, but difficult to photograph given their white color. This bird stood quietly poised, for many minutes, just waiting for an opportunity to strike at a fish—but it never happened while I had my camera trained on him.  It was a cold, brisk, overcast day in January 2012, which played hell with my exposure.  A large white bird backed with a white blown out background.  I decided to go for broke and converted the original color image to B&W, and then I processed it “High Key”.  Thus the title:  White on White.

Photographer’s note:  Original color image was captured as a CameraRAW file with my Canon EOS 5D Mark II camera, and Tamron SP 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di VC USD telephoto zoom lens.  A stellar lens, but later replaced with a Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM telephoto prime lens.  RAW conversion, B&W conversion and all post-processing adjustments completed in Photoshop Elements 11 (PSE11).  Camera settings:  1/320s @ f/7.0, ISO 100, FL/300mm, Handheld, Natural Light.

STEVE CR_edited-1Stephen F. Dennstedt

Indochine Photography International

*  Expat Journal

*  Indochine Portfolio

*  My 1x.com Portfolio

*  My NatGeo Portfolio

One response to “White On White

Leave a Reply

