Turn 180 Degrees And Take A Step Forward

Steve BW WEB

Stephen F. Dennstedt

It is not stepping back, or retreating, it’s simply changing your direction in a positive way. This message rings so true for me, and it resonates in a very personal and powerful way. Like so many of life’s aphorisms it points the way clearly, but only if you’re open to the message.  That we so often have to step to the brink of the abyss before we turn around is a shame, but appears to be part of the human condition.

“IN RESPONSE TO PEOPLE WHO SAY, WELL YOU CAN’T GO BACK – WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU GET TO THE CLIFF AND YOU TAKE ONE STEP FORWARD, OR YOU DO A 180 DEGREE TURN AND TAKE ONE STEP FORWARD? WHICH WAY ARE YOU GOING? WHICH IS PROGRESS?”

– Doug Tompkins, founder of The North Face

I would strongly recommend watching the documentary 180° South.  It is available through Netflix and I believe PBS.  I have watched it before, and I will watch it again.  It is a new (or very old) way of looking at things, and of solving problems big and small.  It teaches us that there is a way to resolve our twenty-first century dilemmas, and that what may first seem to be a “stepping back” or “retreat” is actually, in point of fact, progress in its truest sense. Whether we apply this philosophy to humanity as a whole, or limit it to us as individuals, it is equally valid.  When you think you’ve reached a dead end, that there is no more progress to be made, simply turning around 180° degrees and taking a step forward is the most logical path.

3 responses to “Turn 180 Degrees And Take A Step Forward

  1. You would never believe how pertinent this is to my current situation. I think I will do exactly that (turn180 degrees and take a step forward) ….right back toward my roots! Thanks for the confirmation that I am doing the right thing! 😊

  2. I had just watched that short film prior to reading your blog. Both extremely helpful for me at this time as I make huge decision to turn around and go back to plans I started 18 months ago. Plans I did not back myself on and ran, but time to take the step I haves turned probably months ago.

    • You often reach a point in life where you evaluate what you’re doing and where you’re going and decide to make a change. It’s usually fear that holds us back, but when fear is faced head-on it typically disappears in a puff of smoke. Good luck and best wishes with your new steps forward.

Leave a Reply

