Walkabout

As is my custom I took my walkabout around town this morning.  There is always something to see, appreciate and photograph.  This morning was no different.  The skies were cloudy and threatening rain, but the temperature was warm and balmy.  My family and friends back in Southern California are suffering with unusually cold weather, including snow in the lower elevations and even down into the desert.  Of course this New Year’s Eve finds me suffering too, but in Belize City, Belize.  A few images from my morning stroll (click on individual images to enlarge).

Belize Storm Clouds Framed

Flowers on Belize Framed

Old House 2 Framed

Old House Framed

St. John's Cathedral Framed

St. John’s Cathedral

This final image is of St. John’s Cathedral, an Episcopal church located about 5-minutes from my hotel, and just one block from the Caribbean Sea.  It was built of stone in 1812, and is a beautiful old church both inside and out.

Photographer’s note:  All of these images were captured with my small Canon PowerShot G15 pocket camera.  This is my small backup shooter that I’m always raving about—easily slips into my pocket, and is always available for the quick shot.  Zoom range is 28mm to 140mm, and it does almost everything my primary shooter does.  I’m not the only pro who carries this little guy around, it is a very popular little backup camera.  Post-edits completed in Photoshop Elements 11 and Photomatix Essentials (for HDR – High Dynamic Range processing).  Frames and mattes added using BigHugeLabs software (free software available online) – SFD

Tilley & Steve San Cristobal WEB

Stephen F. Dennstedt

Reporting from Belize City, Belize (departing soon for Honduras) . . .

4 responses to “Walkabout

  1. Hi Stephen, happy new year. I really like the treatment you gave these images. I should try something like that some day. I was surprised that I was the number one responder to your blog.
    Tim

    • Thanks Tim. I think some folks are embarrassed to have their comments made public (you and I don’t think like that), and they contact me through email (and of course on FB). I always appreciate your comments, and the fact that you stay in touch. When (and if) I come back to San Diego for a visit we’ll have to hookup for a photo day.

Leave a Reply

