Vietnam Revisited

Vietnam12.jpg~original

U.S. Marines in Vietnam 1966

Dick Cavett’s Vietnam.  I don’t often recommend T.V. programs, but once in a while I feel compelled to do so.  This is one of those times.  For me American PBS is “almost” the equivalent of the British BBC, and this recent release only enhances their reputation.

Before I go any further, here is the link that I am recommending: http://video.pbs.org/viralplayer/2365474570.

This was what I had to say about it when I posted to Facebook:

This program is extraordinary, and should be a MUST SEE for everyone with a social conscience. That it will ultimately be viewed by only a few I find disappointing to the extreme. It is a well rounded discussion, from both the left and the right, and presents both sides of the Vietnam story equally. The parallels from then to now demonstrate clearly that those who do not understand history are doomed to repeat it. If you’re looking for gruesome war footage this intellectual program is not for you. However, if you’re looking for answers and a historical perspective some 50-years later, this one hour program delivers on every level. This is a cautionary tale in that it happened before, its happened since, and it will continue to happen going forward if we don’t heed history and rein in our elected leaders and hold them strictly accountable for their actions. The similarities between Vietnam and our current policy in the Middle East are striking and profound. This program is not just for veterans (most of us already understand), but should be required viewing for all American citizens. I am proud of my fellow Marines and all Vietnam Veterans, but I am angry with the American leadership that wasted our youth there.”

Sgt Stephen F. Dennstedt USMC

Sgt Stephen F. Dennstedt USMC

Sgt. Stephen F. Dennstedt USMC 1965-71 (Vietnam 1967-68). “I’ve finally hit the wall politically, and have abdicated my role as a U.S. citizen by living abroad as an expatriate. My energy depleted, my rants ignored, my country falling into greater despair and chaos, I now pass the baton to the younger generations that follow. My one piece of advice: Study your history rather than listening to electronic soundbites, and question everything. Best of luck.”

Leave a Reply

