Roadside Hawk

WB IMG_2632

I believe this is a Roadside Hawk (Rupomis magnirostris), or possibly one of its subspecies. They range from Mexico through Central America and throughout most of South America.  I photographed my first one in Yucatan, Mexico a couple of years ago, and most recently this one in Colombia, South America.  The one in Yucatan had more of a yellow beak, but the rest of the coloration was virtually the same as this Colombian cousin.  Admittedly I am not a trained naturalist, so I could be wrong on the identification.  If I am please let me know, and I will make every effort to correct this post.  Click on individual images to enlarge for better viewing.

Canon 5D Mk3 and 400mm

* Canon EOS 5D Mark 3 Camera with Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM Super Telephoto Lens

Photographer’s note:  I captured this image in CameraRAW with my Canon EOS 5D Mark 2 full frame digital camera, and Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM super telephoto lens.  It was shot handheld using existing natural light (no tripod or flash).  Camera settings:  1/500s @ f/5.6, ISO 1600, FL 400mm.  RAW file conversion and post edits completed in Adobe Photoshop Elements 11 (PSE11).

* As a postscript:  The camera pictured above is a Mark 3, and mine is a Mark 2 (its predecessor).  The lens is exactly the same as mine, Canon’s stellar 400mm prime (non-zoom) lens which retails for $1,200 USD.  That sounds expensive until you realize the next step up costs $10,000 to $20,000 USD.  This camera/lens combination is unbeatable in my opinion.  I would love to have the newer Mark 3 (with its improved fps and multi-point autofocus system), but I really can’t justify the upgrade.  I’ve had my Mark 2 for 6 years now, and its served me very well.  SFD

Tilley & Steve San Cristobal WEB

Stephen F. Dennstedt

Photographer, Writer and World Traveler

Reporting from Quito, Ecuador

Leave a Reply

