B&W Wildlife Photography

WB BW IMG_2696

I’ve said it so many times before on this blog that I’m beginning to sound like a broken record:  I love B&W images.  And that includes wildlife images.  Without color to distract, images often become more dramatic. You tend to focus on the subject, and especially on their eyes in the case of live critters.  Not everyone appreciates B&W the way I do, but I don’t think it will ever really go away—at least I hope not.

WB BW IMG_2632

Here I’ve converted three wildlife images to B&W.  They looked just fine in color, but after conversion to B&W they seem to be imbued with more drama, more depth.  The word gravitas comes to mind.  More seriousness.

WB BW IMG_2684

For my photographer friends out there, I would invite you to convert some of your favorite images (wildlife or otherwise) to B&W.  It is a fun exercise, and you just might be surprised at the results.  Play around with the settings and sliders, especially the “Contrast” slider.  My photo editing software of choice is Adobe’s PhotoShop Elements 11 (PSE11).

I just watched an excellent video called:  A Year in the Life of an African Wildlife Photographer with Andy Biggs.  Andy is an amazing wildlife photographer, and guess what?  Many of Andy’s best images are in B&W.  If you’re a photographer interested in photographing the critters (or even if you’re not) I’ve included the video for your viewing pleasure.

WB BW IMG_2747

Stephen F. Dennstedt

Photographer, Writer and World Traveler

Reporting from Quito, Ecuador

One response to “B&W Wildlife Photography

  1. Love black and white as well – everything you said about it is true. A simple photo can be so much more powerful without the distraction of color!

Leave a Reply

