Like It Was Yesterday – The End

Forty-eight years ago and then some.  January 1967 I arrived in Vietnam, I was 19-years old and full of piss & vinegar.  February 1968 I left Vietnam with nothing else to lose:  having lost my idealism, my patriotism, my innocence, my sobriety, my sanity and my ability to trust (in anything).  The film footage shows it all, and The Doors said it all.  Nothing conveys the mood like 60’s music.  Violent images deserve violent and surreal music.

Like a few veterans, and unlike many others, I eventually returned to Vietnam.  The first time in 2004 and then again in 2008.  And in my mind I have returned again and again on many a dark night.  In reality it has changed a lot, but in my head it remains ever the same.  I will keep going back one way or another.

Sgt Stephen F. Dennstedt USMC

Sergeant Stephen F. Dennstedt

United States Marine Corps

1965 – 1971

(Vietnam 1967 – 1968)

Awards & Decorations

Tilley & Steve San Cristobal WEB

Stephen F. Dennstedt

Photographer, Writer and World Traveler

Quito, Ecuador

One response to “Like It Was Yesterday – The End

  1. Can’t imagine what it would have been like to serve in Vietnam . I was a year or two too young to get potentially conscripted into the Australian armed forces.

Leave a Reply

