RIP Papa Moe

Papa Moe

E. A. “Papa Moe” Mauri

I knew this man for almost 28-years, he was my former father-in-law.  He was one of the best men I ever had the privilege to know.  Like me he was a Marine.  Unlike me he rose through the ranks from Private to Major, from enlisted man to commissioned officer.  He was a Vietnam veteran, and the recipient of the Bronze Star Medal with Combat V device.

US499a

Bronze Star Medal with Combat V Device

But it was his generosity and kindness of heart that made him so special to everyone.  He was a good father, and an outstanding grandfather and great-grandfather.  It came as a great shock this morning to find that he had passed.

Moe always treated me with respect, and he always made me enjoy our time together.  He could be a very funny man at times, and also deadly serious.  I loved watching him interact with his family, especially his grandkids.  I am sure that the holidays will not be the same without him.

My condolences and best wishes go out to my former wife Barb, Michael and Kristina.  Also to his other daughters Carol and Sue, and their extended families.  I know that Moe’s passing will leave a huge hole in your lives, and that he will never be forgotten.  I certainly will never forget him, I will be in his debt forever.  I always had the thought that I would see him again, but I guess it wasn’t meant to happen.

Thank you for everything Moe, and Semper fidelis Marine.

WB IMG_2747

Stephen F. Dennstedt

Photographer, Writer and World Traveler

Quito, Ecuador

Leave a Reply

