Galapagos Land Iguana

WB BW IMG_4688

1/1250s @ f/6.3 ISO 500 @ FL 400mm

I photographed this very large Land Iguana, on Espanola Island in the Galapagos, about a week ago.  I would estimate his length (nose to tail) at about 1.5 meters.  I intimidated him not in the slightest; in fact my challenge wasn’t to get close enough, but rather to stay back far enough that I didn’t compromise the minimum focus distance (MFD) of my 400mm lens. I was probably about 4 meters from him when I snapped the shutter, and the MFD of my lens is 3.5 meters.  Here he is perched on a cliff side lava-rock, and gazing out on the Pacific Ocean (with a big smile on his face).

Photographer’s note:  Image captured as a CameraRAW file with my Canon EOS 5D Mark II full-frame digital camera, and my Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM super-telephoto prime lens. RAW file was converted using Adobe Camera RAW (ACR), and then post-edited in Adobe Photoshop Elements 11 (PSE11), including conversion to Black & White.  I adjusted the blacks and the whites in Levels, and then worked with the contrast, exposure and sharpening.  SFD

WB BW IMG_2747

Stephen F. Dennstedt

Photographer, Writer and World Traveler

Espanola Island – Galapagos, Ecuador

Leave a Reply

