My Mighty-mite Camera

WB IMG_3887

Espanola Island – Galapagos, Ecuador

1/500s @ f/6.3 ISO 80 @ FL 28mm

WB IMG_3917

Santa Cruz Island – Galapagos, Ecuador

1/200s @ f/8 ISO 80 @ FL 28mm

I mentioned in my last Galapagos post that you should definitely bring a wide-angle lens with you.  I also mentioned that on my primary shooter, my Canon EOS 5D Mark II full-frame digital camera, I always had my Canon EF 400 f/5.6L USM super-telephoto lens mounted so I wouldn’t miss any wildlife shots.

Rather than constantly changing lenses, I opted instead to use my little backup shooter for my wide-angle scenic shots.  This little Mighty-mite camera is Canon’s PowerShot G15 (its latest incarnation is the G16).  Retail price is approximately $500 USD.

Canon G15

Canon PowerShot G15

I’ve written about this little camera a number of times, so I won’t repeat what I’ve already said before.  It’s a great little shooter, and fits in the palm of your hand, or slips easily into a cargo pocket.  It can shoot either JPEG or CameraRAW files, and has professional (or creative) shooting modes.  Like me, many other professional photographers also chose this little guy as their backup camera.  It is feature packed, small in size and light in weight.

But the point of this post is to emphasize the need for a wide-angle lens when visiting the Galapagos.  Whether you choose to take along an additional lens, or simply use a second camera like this one, the requirement remains.  A focal length of 24mm or 28mm works well for me, but some may opt for an even wider focal length.  The choice is yours.

Canon 5D Mk3 and 400mm Canon EOS 5D Mark II with EF 400mm f/5.6L USM super-telephoto lens

WB IMG_2747

Stephen F. Dennstedt

Photographer, Writer and World Traveler

Galapagos, Ecuador

Leave a Reply

