Masked Booby

WB Framed Masked Booby

Masked Booby

Espanola Island – Galapagos, Ecuador

1/1600s @ f/5.6 ISO 200 @ FL 400mm

While exploring the Galapagos I mostly photographed the Blue-footed Booby, but they aren’t the only ones in the islands.  There was also the Red-footed Booby (which I didn’t see), and the Masked Booby pictured above.  The morning that I photographed this particular specimen the sky was very overcast, so when I exposed for the bird the sky was totally blown out to stark white.  But I like the effect, it’s very white-on-white, resulting in a sort of artsy-fartsy look.  I was very close to this fella when I snapped the shutter with my 400mm super-telephoto, he was perched on a rock and looking back over his shoulder.

WB BW IMG_2747

Stephen F. Dennstedt

Photographer, Writer and World Traveler

Espanola Island – Galapagos, Ecuador

Leave a Reply

