Regrets, I Have A Few

432953_sword1

Marine Sword

The M1859 Marine NCO sword is the oldest weapon in continuous (unbroken) service in the U.S. inventory

HISTORY OF THE MARINE NCO SWORD

When I was in the Corps I wanted one of these so bad.  But I could barely afford my Dress Blues at the time, much less a beautiful sword like this.  The current price tag is $600 to $1,000 USD depending on the bells & whistles (special engraving and such).  These are NCO (Non-commissioned Officer’s swords).  A Marine NCO is an enlisted Marine with the rank of Corporal (E-4) or above.  At nineteen, after only two years in the Corps, I was promoted to Sergeant (E-5).  Click on the above link if you’re at all interested in the history of the sword itself.

I still have my Dress Blues, or rather my son does, and my medals, ribbons and badges.  I can’t fit into the Blues anymore, I weighed only 142-pounds when I returned from Vietnam and got married in them.  I’m pretty skinny these days, but 142-pounds I am not.

I don’t know why I do this.  You certainly can’t live in the past, and God knows I’m NOT that nineteen old Sergeant of Marines anymore.  And the Marine Corps was no bed of roses. Just put it down to the ramblings of an old man, and maybe too much beer at dinner tonight.

Sgt Stephen F. Dennstedt USMC

Sgt Stephen F. Dennstedt USMC

 

1965 – 1971

Vietnam 1967 – 1968

Antigua Steve WEB

Stephen F. Dennstedt

“Old Fart”

Photographer, Writer and World Traveler

Piura, Peru

Leave a Reply

