Expat Journal: Join the Adventure and Travel the World

Expat Journal

Expat Journal

Photography, Travel, Life

My world adventure, and Expat Journal, both began in 2011.  In the beginning it started with “endings” oddly enough:  a fatal spear-thrust to the beast called career, divorce, bankruptcy, foreclosure and security.  My life ended in a bloody train wreck.  But like the mythical Phoenix bird of yore, I too arose from the ashes to begin a new and better life.

Expat Journal chronicles the ongoing transformation:  from professional banker at JPMorgan Chase bank, to professional photographer, reluctant author and world traveler.  It took a year to extricate myself from the social and legal entanglements I had accumulated, but in early 2012 I said goodbye to the United States and began my life as an itinerant expat.

Expat Journal comes to you in three volumes:  Volume I, Photography; Volume II, Travel; Volume III, Life.  That is to say my posts can usually be classified in one of three categories: photography, travel or life.  I post often (sometimes three to four times a week), and the content is varied.  Many (most) times I will include photos of my travels along with my first-person impressions.

If you’re reading this now you somehow came to Expat Journal and found something of interest.  That is flattering, so I thank you very much.  In the five years I’ve been writing Expat Journal I have amassed over 1,000 posts (covering many different topics), attracted over 370 followers worldwide (followed in 125 countries) and accumulated almost 100,000 total hits.  And the blog is still growing and attracting new readers almost every day.

Much has happened to me since 2011.  My photography company, Indochine Photography, is thriving at www.IndochinePhotography.me.  I was the staff photographer for The Yucatan Times newspaper in Mexico for a year, as well as the official photographer for Kaxil Kiuic Biocultural Reserve and Puuc Jaguar Conservation in Yucatan.  I’ve sold my fine art prints worldwide at Soho Galleries, Cafe la Boheme and my online eCommerce store.

I have travelled extensively, spending most of my time on the road.  Starting in Mexico I continued my travels to:  Cuba, Guatemala, Belize, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Panama, Colombia, Ecuador and now Peru.  I’ve checked off bucket-list destinations like: Cuba, the Amazon and Galapagos.  I’ve spent protracted lengths of time in the jungles (tropical rainforests) of Central and South America photographing the wildlife and indigenous Peoples.

I am location-independent, which means that I am technically homeless.  But the world is my home, and every person I meet is a potential friend.  I am a slo-traveler:  spending more time in fewer places, seeing less but experiencing more.  Like a Zen-Buddhist koan my life has been distilled to its essence:  live simple, live cheap, live free.  I have regained my financial health, and I am totally free to live my life my way.  Life is good.

I take my pictures, I write (and read) and I travel.  In Expat Journal I discuss how I do this, offering tips and advice along the way.  I share my love of fine single-malt Scotch whisky, premium cigars, local cuisine and beautiful women.  All this plus visiting some of the most beautiful travel destinations in the world, and documenting everything in words and pictures as I go along.  Join the adventure, live the life or travel vicariously through my posts without ever leaving the comfort of your own home.

If you’re not currently a subscriber please take a moment to subscribe.  Glance over at the right-hand margin (at the top).  It only takes two seconds.  Once you subscribe you will get free email updates advising you of any new posts (and like I said I post often, lots of new content).  If you like what you see I would appreciate a shout-out to your family, friends and acquaintances.  I am trying to increase my blog following (hence this post).  Expat Journal is not monetized, so the content is absolutely free.  It is safe, secure and without obligation. Use the share buttons at the bottom of the page.  Thanks.

Rio San Juan Steve WEB IMG_3141

Relaxing in a Jungle Hammock – Rio San Juan, Nicaragua

Stephen F. Dennstedt

Photographer, Writer and World Traveler

Currently in South America

One response to “Expat Journal: Join the Adventure and Travel the World

Leave a Reply

