The War in Iraq Was Bogus From the Start

LawrenceWilkerson-640x360

Colonel Lawrence Wilkerson – U.S. Army (Retired)

The war in Iraq was bogus from the start, and I suspected as much during the run up to war. I was extremely vocal at the time (as I often am), and accused of being crazy, unpatriotic, and even un-American. The only fly in the ointment was that I had served my country as a U.S. Marine for six years, and was a decorated Vietnam combat veteran. Most of the people labelling me had never spent one day in the military, much less in combat, so it made their task of calling me un-American a tad more difficult.

Now comes a whistleblower from the Bush Administration, Colonel Lawrence Wilkerson, who was Colin Powell’s Chief-of-Staff. An important note: Colonel Wilkerson was a conservative Republican, serving a conservative President (George W. Bush), and a conservative Secretary of State (Colin Powell). You will notice that I intentionally used the word conservative three times; this is no bleeding-heart, sour grapes liberal. This man was mainstream establishment from the get-go and towed the party’s line.

I am not going to rehash his revelations, arguments, confessions, and apologies here. What I am going to do is give you the necessary links so you can prove it all to yourself. It is the duty of every man (and woman) to educate themselves. I think that an uneducated opinion reeks of ignorance, and has no credibility whatsoever. If you choose to voice an opinion on history, politics, or religion, then you should study history, politics, and religion.

Colonel Wilkerson, himself a decorated combat veteran of Vietnam, had a long and distinguished career in the U.S. Army as a helicopter pilot. In his position, as the Chief-of-Staff for Secretary of State Colin Powell, he had a unique perch from which to view the goings-on of the Bush Administration. His insights into the characters of the various actors are spot-on and discouraging. He makes few excuses for himself and others, and is refreshingly honest (albeit too damn late): Colonel Lawrence Wilkerson.

For the truth about Iraq, as told from a conservative insider, watch these two short videos. They hopefully will shock and appall you, and completely disabuse you of the notion that George W. Bush (and his administration of self-serving lunatics) were anything but criminals and thugs. The Bush Administration needs to be prosecuted as war criminals (more inflammatory rhetoric from this crazy, unpatriotic, and un-American malcontent). I will be anxious to know if you feel the same way after viewing these two short clips.

A final personal note to my detractors: You wouldn’t listen to me back then. I was right. I take no pleasure in being right, because the consequences included the needless loss of life of my comrades-in-arms in all branches of the military. The consequences also included the moral and financial bankruptcy of a once great nation. I am warning you again, so listen up this time, a vote for Donald Trump, Ted Cruz, or Hillary Clinton, is a vote for disaster. If you choose not to heed this warning, you better be ready to suffer the consequences—they will be disastrous and long-enduring.

Why do I continue to piss into the wind with these blog posts? I know I’m not going to change any minds historically, politically, or religiously. Is it egotism, pretentiousness, arrogance, or just a sense of frustration? Perhaps it’s a bit of everything, heavy emphasis on the frustration (and anger). More than anything else I want to provoke you (in a positive way). I want you to investigate, to challenge, and to educate yourself. Open your mind beyond your preconceived opinions. It’s important.

Leave a Reply

