Portrait of a Lady Amherst’s Pheasant

Lady Amherst Pheasant

Lady Amherst’s Pheasant (male)   

1/500s @ f/5.6 ISO 3200 @ 400mm

I love it when I successfully capture a close animal portrait (headshot), showing a level of detail that most people can’t see with their naked eye. This beautiful bird is a male Lady Amherst’s Pheasant native to China and Myanmar (Burma). You can learn more about it here at Lady Amherst’s Pheasant. They’re really tough birds to photograph, because they like to roost in the dark, deep shadows beneath thick foliage. Such was the case with this particular bird, and I played Hide and Seek with him for a long time before I could finally shoot him (photographically).

I featured this image in my online portfolio at www.IndochinePhotography.me and is also available for sale in the eCommerce Store (click the link under the photo). It’s a high-resolution image and will print large to 30 x 30 inches. If you’re an Indochine Photography VIP Patron of the Arts you can buy this fine art print using your private Discount Code for big savings. If you’re not now a subscriber to Indochine Photography sign up here for your free monthly e-Newsletter. Bird and nature lovers should take this opportunity to own a fine art print of this gorgeous bird.

Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM Super-telephoto prime lens

Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM Super-telephoto prime lens

Photographer’s Backstory: I captured this shot with my Canon EOS 5D Mark II full-frame digital camera and Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM Super-telephoto prime lens. I was shooting handheld in natural light. I used the old Marine Corps Sneak & Peek stealth approach to get close, steadied my aim, and fired away. Shooting at 3 fps I snapped a few shots, but only this one was satisfactory to me. Due to the dark environment my ISO was high at 3200, but the 5D Mark II handles high ISO well, and there is very little digital noise (graininess) in the photo. The fine feather detail and vivid colors are rendered beautifully.

El Mochito Steve WEB

Stephen F. Dennstedt

Photographer, Writer, and World Traveller

Lima, Peru

2 responses to “Portrait of a Lady Amherst’s Pheasant

Leave a Reply

