Terminator Meets Leica in the 21st Century

WTF? Are you fu*king kidding me? What’s going on here? Technology is moving way too fast folks, did you not see Terminator? I’m not ready for this. I grew up in a time when the Leica M3 35mm rangefinder camera was the best camera on the block (if not the planet).

LEICA

Leica M3 35mm Rangefinder Camera

Photo Credit: By Rama 

Introduced in 1954, the Leica M3 was often the camera of choice for serious professionals. I saw it regularly in Vietnam, in 1967, slung over the shoulders of civilian combat photographers. Eventually the  first Nikon F 35mm SLR claimed the number one spot in the early 1960s, and was standard issue for both civilian and military combat photographers (and other professionals). Read more Here.

Now I’m reading we’ll be able to take pictures with our eyes. A photo will be just a blink away. This is just way-CRAZY. Read the article and share your comments. Am I the only dinosaur out here that can’t handle rapid change? I think maybe it’s time for another well-placed asteroid. You Millennials are ruining my life (and I want you to stop). Just shoot me. Please.

Samsung Patents a Blink-Triggered Contact Lens Camera

Hand holding - zoomed in

As quoted from the original article: We’re getting closer to being able to take pictures with cameras built directly into contact lenses. Samsung has been granted a patent in South Korea for a smart contact lens that projects images directly into the wearer’s eyeball… and which has a built-in camera that’s controlled by blinking.

SamMobile reports that the patent filing comes on the heels of a new “Gear Blink” trademark application that was filed by Samsung in both South Korea and the United States. It’s currently unknown whether these trademark and patent filings refer to the same thing

The new patent application shows that Samsung has been developing a contact lens with a tiny display, a camera, an antenna, and several sensors. It needs to be paired with an external device (e.g. a smartphone) for processing the content.

Samsung says the smart contact lenses can provide better image quality than off-eye solutions such as Google Glass. Like Google Glass, however, these contact lenses will undoubtedly come under intense scrutiny over its privacy eroding implications — they’re essentially hard-to-detect cameras that can be taken and used anywhere a person goes and on anything a person can see.

Samsung isn’t alone in this endeavor: Google also patented smart contact lenses with built-in cameras back in April 2014. Also, Samsung has been apparently winding down its standalone camera business around the world, so perhaps the company is focusing instead on pioneering entirely new ways to take pictures.

El Mochito Steve WEB

Stephen F. Dennstedt

Photographer, Writer, and World Traveller

www.IndochinePhotography.me

Lima, Peru

8 responses to “Terminator Meets Leica in the 21st Century

  1. While I worry a little bit about these disruptive technologies, I’m not ready to cry the sky-net is falling quite yet. The 19th century luddites (e.g. Mary Shelley, author of “Frankenstein”) decried the technologies of their day claiming they would destroy mankind. We’ve survived through the industrial age, the cold war, and have managed to embrace the instagratification of the Internet and PEDs (Portable Electronic Devices). Technologies all come at a cost, of course. To be aware of those negative impacts on our society takes wisdom and to acculturate them takes time. As I see folks walking around with one eye on their smartphone wherever they go, it’s clear we’re not there yet, but I remain hopeful we’ll find a balance.

    • Intuitively I know you’re right Jim. My thoughts (and concerns) are more a function of age than anything else I suppose. As each generation slides into old age they seem to have the same concerns (that younger generations are somehow less/worse). At almost 70 I’m not quite ready to give up the fight, but I feel I’m getting more and more stodgy as time passes (I will continue to rail against stodginess, but it’s a losing battle I’m afraid). 🙂

      • Stephen, stodgy would be giving up on your dream and spending your golden years playing checkers planted on the rocking chairs at Cracker Barrel. I think you’re far from that so no worries.

Leave a Reply

