A Sad Announcement Today

San Juan Chamula

San Juan Chamula – Chiapas, MX 

Many of you know that I’ve been a contributing author at Northrup Photo for a while. Their reach is quite extensive with almost 500,000 subscribers worldwide. Unfortunately, they’ve decided to drop their blog format, and devote their full energies and attention to their video productions: Tony & Chelsea LIVE on YouTube and their new PodCast productions. Its been a great partnership, and I’ve thoroughly enjoyed myself along the way. For the time being I will leave my links to Northrup Photo on my Indochine Photography website so my published articles can be accessed, but eventually I will remove them. Many thanks to Chelsea & Tony Northrup, Siobhan, and Justin for giving me the opportunity to contribute to a profession I dearly love. I had five articles pending that I will now share in upcoming weeks on this blog. When one door closes another typically opens up, it will be exciting to see what that door leads to.

5ef11b7f8e94024bc08492797e436d63

Stephen F. Dennstedt

Photographer, Writer, World Traveller

www.IndochinePhotography.me

Cusco, Peru

5 responses to “A Sad Announcement Today

  1. Their loss!

    On Friday, May 6, 2016, Expat Journal: Postcards from the Edge wrote:

    > Dennstedt posted: ” San Juan Chamula – Chiapas, MX Many of you know that > I’ve been a contributing author at Northrup Photo for a while. Their reach > is quite extensive with almost 500,000 subscribers worldwide. > Unfortunately, they’ve decided to drop their blog format, and” >

    • Thank you Jonna, that was very nice and made my day a little brighter. They’re great folks, and I will really miss writing for them, but I wish them the very best. 🙂

  2. T&C have a pretty full plate and are working hard to launch a photo/travel TV show on top of their publishing business and social media work. I’ve been at a place a few times in my professional life when I’ve spread myself too thin and had to step back. I’ve had to shut down projects I loved and business connections I respected – so I get their side. I’m glad you see it that way too. Hopefully you got more than one new follower out of the collaboration and you never know what future business with the Northrups might emerge.

    On a completely different note, have you had your fill of coca leaves?

    • What’s the classic line in The Godfather? “It’s not personal, it’s business.” They’re cool kids with a lot of talent between them. They allowed me to extend my reach for a while, and they treated me well (it was a paid gig after all, and they paid pretty good). I love writing, and I will miss that aspect of the partnership, but I have my own platform to keep me busy. And I got to meet fellow talented photographers like yourself, and I did gain some followers who are interested in my lifestyle. I think it was a win-win all around. The internet is like quantum mechanics, a ripple here produces a reaction there . . . you never know what might come your way at any given moment, and that’s exciting in itself.

Leave a Reply

