An Open Letter

Another old post from last year. Maybe even more relevant in today’s political climate.

Expat Journal: Postcards from the Edge

Steve Honduras BW WEBThis is an open letter to my younger blog followers, primarily (but not exclusively). I am much older than you in many cases, but I don’t consider myself totally irrelevant. Bruised, battered and cynical for sure; apathetic possibly—but not irrelevant (not yet anyway). And I’m not completely apathetic, or I wouldn’t be taking the time to write to you (now would I?).

In my younger days, even into my late 50’s, I thought of myself as more of an activist. Not that I was in the street marching and protesting, but I was always pretty strident in my opinions. I guess that I still am, although I’m not so quick to share them publicly anymore. I used to think of myself as “fighting the good fight.” Now, I think I was just banging my head against a brick wall.

I’ve always been a romantic and an idealist, with an ingrained…

View original post 1,314 more words

Leave a Reply

