Hanging Upside Down at the Bottom of the World

95629197

Saint Bernards of San Carlos de Bariloche

(File Photo)

Hanging upside down at the bottom of the world and mis cajones son fríos (my balls are cold). I left the hostel at 10 a.m. for my morning walkabout and it was only -1°C/30°F although bright and sunny (49% humidity). I know that doesn’t sound particularly cold to my friends in Minnesota, but in most places I’m hearing complaints about it being too hot and humid. Here I am dressed in a T-shirt, long sleeve shirt, fleece jacket, down vest, parka, fleece beanie, and gloves—and I’m still cold.

95629181

Saint Bernards of San Carlos de Bariloche

(File Photo)

For instance my good friend Brian in Samara, Costa Rica will be sporting his year-round bathing suit and flip-flops and basking in humid (74%) tropical sunshine at 29°C/84°F and drinking a cold cerveza; my friend Candie in Manila, Philippines will be well-humidified (82%) at 28°C/82°F and drinking God knows what; my good friend Dolores in Merida, Yucatan, Mexico will be enjoying warm and humid (70%) temperatures of 31°C/88°F and refreshing herself with some chilled wine I imagine.

San-carlos-de-bariloche-San-carlos-de-bariloche

San Carlos de Bariloche

(File Photo)

Every morning I see these cool Saint Bernard’s in the plaza area and they’re a real hit with the tourists. For a small price you can have your picture taken with them, kind of like getting your picture taken on a pony when you were a kid, and I will try to get a shot or two myself in the coming days (these are just file photos from the internet). I’ve had two Saint Bernards in my lifetime, Duffy and Hannibal (they’re just like big Teddy Bears). I also made it to the bank this morning for an infusion of cash from the ATM and then made arrangements to visit El Bolson (170km farther south) on Friday.

WB IMG_8024

King of the Andes

I’ve decided to extend my stay here in San Carlos by another week before heading farther south into Patagonia. The hostel is nice with decent hot water, good in-room wifi, and an okay breakfast (cornflakes, bread & jam, and tea bag coffee). The food in the restaurants is good although a bit pricey, and San Carlos has a chocolate store every few feet which I will definitely have to try. The chocolate is famous here and was probably introduced by the Germans when they arrived in Argentina although I don’t know that to be a fact (just a supposition on my part).

WB IMG_8011

Stephen F. Dennstedt

Photographer, Writer, World Traveller

www.IndochinePhotography.me

San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina

SUBSCRIBE TO MY FREE NEWSLETTER

Leave a Reply

