Storm Jacket for your SLR Camera and Lens

robert_canis_3

Storm Jacket SLR Camera & Lens Cover

This is a quick product recommendation for Storm Jacket a handy piece of gear. I’ve received no remuneration (money) or consideration for this recommendation, it is simply my opinion based on practical everyday experience. As a wildlife and nature photographer I shoot in all kinds of weather—oftentimes crappy (really crappy) weather. I’m a Canon shooter photographing with pro-level gear (5D-series bodies and L-lenses). Pro-level equipment implies good weather sealing but if you rely on it solely you’re just being dumb and risking disaster. Storm Jacket is a GREAT  low-tech product that insures solid weather protection for your expensive cameras and lenses in all kinds of weather.

Follow the links to Storm Jacket to learn more. In essence the protective jacket is nothing more than a 100% waterproof sleeve (tube) with bungee cords & locks at either end. It slips easily over your lens and camera body and can be adjusted and securely tightened with the cords. It allows complete accessibility to your camera’s controls (dials & buttons) and has the added advantage of camouflaging your lens if you buy the camo version. Canon telephoto lenses are typically big and white (beige) and telegraph your movements to wildlife big time (a bad thing). I chose the camo option to help negate that problem.

wb-img_4332

Gentoo & Magellanic Penguins

Martillo Island – Tierra de Fuego, Argentina

Here I am shooting wild Gentoo and Magellanic Penguins on the island of Martillo in Tierra del Fuego, Argentina aka The End of the World. I’m shooting with my Canon EOS 5D Mark II camera body (cracked rear LCD screen and all) with my Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM telephoto zoom lens (the birds were too damn close for my Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM super-telephoto prime lens). My whole rig (camera body & lens) is protected by a Storm Jacket and I’m protected by my Eddie Bauer parka. The weather was deeply overcast and drizzling and raining the whole day (and it was cold). Not a drop of moisture ever reached my gear even on the Zodiac pictured in the background (Photo taken 5-days ago).

wb-img_3245

Wild Orange-winged Amazon Parrot

Northern Amazon River Basin – Cuyabeno, Ecuador

My Storm Jacket of choice is the Standard-Large Camo with a Retail Price of $45 usd (and comes with a free stuff sack). It is 23-inches in length and covers my camera body and 400mm prime lens completely. Different sizes and colors are available but I would recommend camo or black for wildlife shooters. If wildlife isn’t your game then knock yourself out and go with the bright colors if you prefer. I originally purchased two sizes but only use one consistently (large). It’s better to have too much sleeve than not enough. The Standard model works GREAT and I thought the Pro model looked a little overworked with its Velcro flaps.

These simple covers not only protect your camera gear from moisture but offer good protection from dust and debris (especially in dry windy conditions). I’ve used my covers in the jungles (rainforests) of Guatemala, Belize, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica and Panama. They’ve been deep into the Amazon river basin and sailing the islands of Galapagos. They’ve been in the snow and ice of the Andes mountains in Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Chile and Argentina and at 14,000 feet in the high sub-freezing desert of Atacama in northern Chile (the driest place on Earth). They are now with me here in Tierra del Fuego the last stop before Antarctica.

Stephen F. Dennstedt

Stephen F. Dennstedt

Photographer, Writer, Traveller

www.IndochinePhotography.me

Tierra del Fuego, Argentina

SUBSCRIBE TO MY FREE NEWSLETTER

3 responses to “Storm Jacket for your SLR Camera and Lens

Leave a Reply

