Iguazu Falls in Argentina

 

iguassu-falls-brazil-argentina

Iguazu Falls

(Internet File Photo)

My next stop in Argentina is Iguazu Falls. Iguazu Falls is about 18km from Puerto Iguazu where I plan to spend a month. Puerto Iguazu is a small town of about 85,000 residents and is a hamlet when compared to the mind numbing population of Buenos Aires at 14.5 million. The climate is subtropical and is warm in the winter and hot in the summer with lots of rain. In other words I’m finally getting warm again after my travels in Southern Patagonia, no more layering of clothes.

The falls straddle the border between Argentina and Brazil and look amazing from what I’ve seen. The above photo is a file photo from the internet and not my photo (obviously because I’m not there yet). The surrounding area is mostly jungle (rainforest) with its lush flora and exotic fauna. This sounds like my kind of place. Spending the days out photographing the sights and my evenings processing my photos and writing my articles. Buenos Aires is a beautiful and interesting city but I’m just not a city guy (even though I grew up in San Diego, California).

There are a lot of activities and excursions from Puerto Iguazu and with my staying a month I will be able to partake in many of them. It’s another long bus trip (17-hours) and I will leave Buenos Aires on 03 November at 7:40 p.m. and  arrive the next day at about 1:00 p.m. in the afternoon. I have booked the bus and hostel so I will continue to enjoy Buenos Aires until I leave the next week. At the end of my stay in Puerto Iguazu I will return to Buenos Aires by bus and stay a few days before flying back to Merida, Yucatan on 08 December (I have already booked the flight).

I will spend three months back in Yucatan (including the holidays) visiting old friends and favorite places before returning to the States for a brief visit after five years. I haven’t nailed down a complete itinerary yet but can see myself revisiting Celestun, Isla Mujeres (and maybe Tulum), San Cristobal de las Casas (in Chiapas) and maybe even Campeche. After my visit back to the States (again for at least three months) it’s off to Asia and the second part of my global adventure.

885756_830581123663491_378352687033749097_o

Stephen F. Dennstedt

Photographer, Writer, Traveller

www.IndochinePhotography.me

Buenos Aires, Argentina

SUBSCRIBE TO MY FREE NEWSLETTER

One response to “Iguazu Falls in Argentina

Leave a Reply

