Visiting Iguazu Falls, Argentina

wb-img_0148

Iguazu Falls

I decided to stay in Puerto Iguazu for a month and not face the 14.5 million residents of Buenos Aires on a daily basis. Good decision. By now I pretty much know myself and my innate aversion to surrounding myself with large numbers of people. Cities, especially large cities, just don’t do it for me—they make me a little crazier than I already am. Puerto Iguazu is in the northeastern part of Argentina where Brazil, Paraguay and Argentina all come together. World-famous Iguazu Falls is the focal point.

Yesterday was hot & humid (really hot & humid) somewhere in the 90°F range with the commensurate tropical humidity. I left the hostel about 8:30 a.m. for the short walk to the bus terminal, passing along the way the small barbershop where I got my hair and beard trimmed for 100 pesos ($6.44 usd) and the Bambu restaurant where I usually have my 3:00 p.m. dinner. Bus fare to Iguazu falls was 65 pesos one way or 130 pesos ($8.37 usd) roundtrip. It’s a short ride of about thirty minutes to reach the entrance to the falls where the admission is an extra 300 pesos ($19.31 usd) for non-residents.

wb-img_0235

Iguazu Rey Hostel

wb-img_0234

Peluqueria (Salon)

wb-img_0232

Bambu Restaurant

Iguazu Falls Parque is very well maintained (as it should be for the steep admission fee) with good walkways, restaurants, beverage stands and shade. From the entrance there are various paths leading to the many falls. The path I chose took me 3,000 meters through beautiful jungle (rainforest) foliage towards the falls. It was along this path that I first encountered tropical butterflies, birds and wild Coatis (Racoon-like critters) that will gladly separate you from one or more of your fingers if you attempt to pet them (they are wild not captive). There are ample warning signs (complete with gruesome photos) but people being people continue to ignore them.

doris-linnaeus-butterfly-stephen-dennstedt

 Doris Butterfly

wb-img_0220

Plush-crested Jay

wb-img_0102

Coati

The falls themselves are spectacular but be forewarned you will have to fight through the crowds of people taking “Selfies” to get a few shots yourself. I guess it’s the price we pay for being allowed to visit these wonders of the world. Everyone around me seemed so self-absorbed getting their smiling mugs in front of the camera I wonder if they even saw the falls or fully appreciated them if they did. I’ve tried (really hard) not to let my cynicism creep in and sour these blog posts but sometimes my fellow humans just overwhelm me. Yesterday was a case in point. More and more I tend to stay away from these mega tourist sites but you cannot visit Puerto Iguazu without seeing the falls.

wb-img_0130

Iguazu Falls 

wb-img_0110

Iguazu Falls 

wb-img_0148

Iguazu Falls

10 responses to “Visiting Iguazu Falls, Argentina

  1. I know what you mean about tourist, my wife just got returned from 3 weeks in Korea. Being a lover of Korean architecture, I tried to visit as mean of the palaces and temples as I could in the short time. Every time I had chance to get a nice photo, everybody wanted to get in front to take a selfie of them.

    • It’s a beautiful location Tim but we head back to Buenos Aires on Thursday (with its 14.5 million people . . . ugh) for six days before flying back to Yucatan, MX. Should be back in San Diego for a three month visit the first week of March. 🙂

Leave a Reply

