Merida: Yucatan, Mexico

wb-img_0238

Coming home to Merida, Yucatan after a two and a half year absence has been bittersweet. When my life in the States self-destructed in 2011 I decided that I was going to travel the world, become a professional photographer and a published writer. I was sixty-four years old. My first destination of choice was the capitol of Yucatan in southern Mexico. I lived here for over two years before beginning my trek farther south. I eventually visited Cuba and backpacked through the Yucatan peninsula of Mexico, Central and South America (all the way to Tierra del Fuego in Patagonia).

wb-img_0260

Nothing says home quite like the tree-lined streets of Avenida Paseo de Montejo with its stately mansions, horse-drawn carriages and sidewalk cafes. Thomas Wolfe wrote a book with the title: You Can’t Go Home Again. But you can, although things change. Change is inevitable. Coming back to Merida, before heading to the States for a short visit, has been the right decision. I’ve reconnected with old friends and visited favorite haunts. The Mexican peso is my friend with a current exchange rate of almost 20 Mexican pesos to one U.S. dollar.

wb-img_0242

Fond memories too. It was in Merida that I became the staff photographer for The Yucatan Times newspaper, the official photographer for the Kaxil Kiuic Biocultural Reserve and Puuc Jaguar Conservation. It was in Merida that I sold my fine art prints at Soho Galleries and Cafe la Boheme. It was in Merida that I experimented with navigating and living in a new and different culture longterm. And it was in Merida than I cracked two ribs when I ran my motor scooter into a concrete telephone pole.

wb-img_0267Its been almost five years since I left the States to pursue my dream. I am now a professional wildlife, nature and travel photographer and sell my fine art prints worldwide at Indochine Photography. I am a published writer and continue to write this travel and photography blog Expat Journal and the occasional freelance article. I travel full-time now (365 days a year) and live with a new philosophy: Live Simple, Live Cheap, Live Free. I will be here for three months, then returning to the States in March before heading to Asia. I will be seventy years old this May. Life is GOOD.

885756_830581123663491_378352687033749097_o

Stephen F. Dennstedt

Photographer, Writer, Traveller

3 responses to “Merida: Yucatan, Mexico

  1. You’re an inspiration. NEVER too old to pursue your dreams and make them a reality. no excuses. Do it now. Make it happen..it’s a short ride we’re on.

Leave a Reply

