Photography 101: Refreshing My Gear

Stephen F. Dennstedt

I mentioned in earlier posts that I would be refreshing my photography gear while visiting the USA. The process has begun. Yesterday I turned in my Canon EOS 5D Mark II and Canon PowerShot G15 for repair and servicing. The 5D Mark II will go to my son and I will keep the G15 as a pocket backup shooter. The Mark II still has plenty of shutter life on it with 60,000 shutter actuations to date (shutter life is estimated to 150,000+ shutter actuations).

I just ordered the Mark II’s replacement, the new Canon EOS 5D Mark IV. Its been panned and heavily criticized by videographers but I don’t shoot video. As a still shooter it is very impressive and feature-rich. Probably the only Canon camera that surpasses it is Canon’s flagship EOS 1Dx Mark II at $6,000 USD. Even so the Mark IV packs in more mega pixels (30.4 MP) and should have better image resolution overall. Many of the Mark IV’s new features come directly from the 1Dx Mark II.

I ordered the new body with the relatively new Canon EF 24-70mm f/4L IS USM zoom lens (with Macro). By bundling the two (camera body + lens) I saved $150 USD and qualified for FREE expedited shipping (1 to 3 days). I also ordered the Canon BG-E20 battery grip. This is only the first of my purchases and will be followed shortly by another camera body, the Canon EOS 7D Mark II APS-C crop-sensor body and four more lenses. I am excited to be refreshing my equipment and these purchases should last until I finally croak. I’m not selling my old gear but have decided to refurbish it and gift it to my son (also a talented photographer).

7 responses to “Photography 101: Refreshing My Gear

    • I hate to spend so much money but I can’t deny I’m having fun updating my equipment. This should last me for the rest of my shooting days and I’m fortunate that I can afford the upgrades right now.

Leave a Reply

