Today My Head Hurts

Stephen F. Dennstedt

My head hurts. I love my new Canon EOS 5D Mark IV camera but it requires a big learning curve. That’s what I’ve done ALL day today. It is very programmable (they are little computers after all) but I’m not the most tech-savy guy in the world. Going through all the menus with the 600 page instruction book by my side I’ve programmed away like a computer nerd at Google.

Not only did I have to program my camera but I had to upgrade my editing software too. I had Adobe Photoshop Elements 11 but it didn’t support the new RAW files coming out of the Mark IV. So I had to download PSE15 and then immediately install upgrades 15.2 and ACR 9.9. Probably easy for you youngsters out there but not so easy for this oldster.

About halfway through the process I took a break: smoked a cigar and had a dram of whiskey. Both settled my brain and I got back to work. The camera was pretty straightforward but the software messed me up for a while (lots of changes and upgrades between PSE11 and PSE15). Why can’t they just leave well enough alone? Job security I guess. Completing the task at hand I ordered my second camera body (the Canon EOS 7D Mark II) and Canon’s EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L II IS USM super-telephoto zoom lens.

I also ordered my Pelican 1510 hard travel case (bulletproof) to hold all of my new photography gear. I have three more lenses to buy and then a bunch of crippy-crap stuff. The three lenses are the: Canon EF 16-35mm f/4L IS USM zoom, the Sigma 50mm f/1.4 Art DG HSM lens for Canon  (second only to the Zeiss 55mm f/1.4 Otus that retails for $4,000 USD) and finally the Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L II IS USM zoom telephoto. That will give me two cutting-edge camera bodies and five outstanding lenses (I already bought the Canon EF 24-70mm f/4L IS USM zoom with my Mark IV). My son will get the older gear (still in good shape).

2 responses to “Today My Head Hurts

Leave a Reply

