Travel 101: Osprey Farpoint 70 Travel Pack

 

 

Osprey Farpoint 70 Travel Pack

I will soon be hitting the road again. My son, Shawn, and I will be travelling back to Yucatan, Mexico for two or three weeks sometime in August. Upon our return brother Joel and myself will be back on the trail, leaving San Diego sometime in September or October to resume our world travels. Like a turtle or a crab I carry my home (and all of my worldly possessions) on my back—and I am buying a new shell: the Osprey Farpoint 70 Travel Pack. This is possibly a traveller’s most important purchasing decision.

Shawn A. Dennstedt

My travel requirements are a little different from most; whereas most travellers embark on trips lasting a few weeks to a few months, my trips are calibrated in years. For instance I left the USA in early 2012 to trek Latin America, and only recently returned to the States for a brief visit after an absence of five years. In those five years I Slo-travelled through Cuba, Mexico, Central & South America and eventually wound up in Tierra del Fuego—literally the end of the world and the last land before Antarctica.

Magellanic Penguins in Tierra del Fuego, Argentina

The Osprey Farpoint 70 is a large pack (70 litres) and for most travellers I would recommend a smaller pack in the 40 to 55 litre range. However, being on the road for an indefinite time (years) requires me to carry more gear than normal.  Buying quality gear in American sizes can often be problematic when travelling abroad, and I won’t have the luxury of returning to the USA in a few weeks or months to replace any worn, damaged or lost gear. I won’t go into all the detailed information about this pack, but you can checkout my link to REI and the YouTube video I’ve included.

Stephen F. Dennstedt – Photographer, Writer, Traveller

 

4 responses to “Travel 101: Osprey Farpoint 70 Travel Pack

  1. I have the Osprey 46 and I took it for 2 weeks backpacking around Laos a couple of years ago. Very strong and durable, the backstraps fit neatly away in a zippered sleeve and it can be carried with either of the handles instead. I can certainly recommend it and I will be taking mine to Korea and Japan later this year, John…

Leave a Reply

