Photography 101: Canon EOS 7D Mark II Versus the Nikon D500

Battle of the wildlife shooters (cameras + lenses). Are you committed to a camera platform yet: Canon, Nikon or Sony? Are you primarily a wildlife or sports shooter? In other words do you like to capture action? Are you out in the elements: wind, rain or snow? These are all important questions to answer.

I’ve been a Canon shooter since 2009 so I am already committed to a camera platform. You might be too and that’s okay. If you’re not then you have a decision to make if you’re wanting to buy a new wildlife or sports shooter. I will narrow the search to Canon and Nikon, I don’t think Sony quite makes the grade in build quality (yet).

I am immediately ruling out the two flagships: the Canon 1Dx Mark II and the Nikon D5 because of price ($6,000 for the Canon and $6,500 for the Nikon). If you can afford either of these two bricks then go for it by all means. But if you’re a mere mortal like me the choice is between the Canon EOS 7D Mark II and the Nikon D500.

Lets cut to the chase: I think Nikon (arguably) has the best body overall with its D500. Until its release the Canon EOS 7D Mark II reigned supreme among wildlife and sports shooters for under $6,000. Since its release the Nikon D500 has been labeled the “Canon 7D Mark II Killer” and for good reason. But now comes the dilemma: although Nikon might have the best body available I think Canon still has the superior lenses. So what do you buy, the brain or the eye? Personally I opt for the eye but then, as stated earlier, I am heavily invested in the Canon eco-system. If you’re a Nikon shooter (or want to be) your decision becomes more problematic. Do you go with the camera over lens choice, or do you (like me) go with the lens over camera choice. I don’t envy you your decision. But I will let you in on a secret (and off the hook): both systems are damn good and you won’t be disappointed with either one (I promise).

Let me say from the get-go: I am not a video shooter. I could give a rat’s ass about video, I shoot strictly stills. If I wanted to shoot video I would probably invest in a dedicated video platform but I have absolutely no interest in shooting video with my DSLR. If you plan to shoot video with your DSLR then the Nikon D500 is definitely the better choice for you. Not only does it shoot 4K but it has a tilt-screen LCD (which video and even some still photographers love). Again, it means nothing to me so I don’t feel like I’m losing out with my Canon EOS 7D Mark II. The Nikon D500 is a $2,000 camera versus $1,500 for the Canon but at that price point you’re basically splitting hairs. I shoot Canon and I love Canon but looking at the specification sheet alone the Nikon D500 has the clear advantage. However, in real-world shooting most of the aforementioned differences are negligible.

I admittedly have a Canon bias when it comes to lenses. This is an area where I think both Nikon and Sony fall a little short. When using APS-C crop-sensor cameras a good telephoto zoom lens is indispensable. Some wildlife and sports shooters prefer large prime lenses with fast apertures (500mm f/4 and 600mm f/4). These are great lenses but they are big, heavy and very expensive. For most of us (on a budget) a good zoom lens in the 100-500mm focal distance range is a good investment (they usually have maximum apertures of f/5.6 but get good results when shooting wide open). In the Canon lineup I have owned and used extensively the Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM (version 1.0) super-telephoto zoom, the Canon EF 400mm f/5.6L USM super-telephoto prime and the Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM (version 2.0) super-telephoto zoom. With the exception of the version 1.0 zoom the other two lenses are spectacular.

So once again we’re back to the original question: do you buy the brain or do you opt for the eye? I can’t answer that for you. My current wildlife rig is the Canon EOS 7D Mark II + Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM super-telephoto zoom lens. Owners of the Nikon D500 might have it over me with their camera body but I think I have it over them when it comes to lens quality (both build quality and image quality) if they’re using the Nikon AF-S FX Nikkor 200-500mm f/5.6 ED VR super-telephoto zoom lens. Those that can afford the larger and faster prime lenses probably have an overall advantage over my setup though they might have to give up some flexibility. If you’re already invested in a platform it’s pretty much a moot point but if you’re buying a wildlife and sports shooter for the first time you have some homework to do. You might start by watching the two YouTube videos I included with this post.

Roseate Spoonbill – Yucatan, MX (Photographed with a Canon EOS 7D Mark II and Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM Super-telephoto Zoom Lens)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.