Twelve of My Favourite Photos From 2017

Stephen F. Dennstedt

Twelve of my favourite photos from 2017. Returning to Merida, Yucatan from the end of the world (Tierra del Fuego, Argentina) we spent the first three months of 2017 in Mexico. Visiting old friends and haunts was fun before returning to the USA.

We arrived back in the USA in late March (after an absence of five and half years) for an anticipated three-month visit with family and friends. Three months turned into six and then eight before we finally got back on the road again.

Reykjavik, Iceland was our first stop and we spent two weeks exploring and photographing the sights in the dead of winter. Three weeks ago we arrived in Dublin, Ireland to hunker down for the holidays (Christmas and New Year’s). We will be spending a total of three months in beautiful Ireland and our next stop is the small coastal town of Clifden (population 2,609). From the big city to the bucolic countryside—we will be staying in Clifden for three weeks before moving to Galway and Belfast. From Belfast we will make the jump to Scotland.

I’ve picked twelve of my favourite images from 2017 (one for each month of the year) to share with you. They’ve all been posted on this blog before and on Facebook. Some early shots were taken in Yucatan, Mexico when Joel and I were returning from Argentina and then Shawn and I went back to Merida for three weeks in July and August. The rest of the images come from San Diego, Iceland and Ireland. I have included some wildlife, landscape and seascape shots but no people or street photography. All images are in colour and I have not included any black & white photos.

Flamingo in FlightRia Celestun Biosphere, Yucatan, Mexico

Carriage in IzamalYucatan, Mexico

Harbor SealLa Jolla, CA, United States

Toco ToucanSan Diego Zoo, CA, United States

Great Blue TuracoSan Diego Zoo, CA, United States

Roseate SpoonbillRia Celestun Biosphere, Yucatan, Mexico

Catholic ChurchAcanceh, Yucatan, Mexico

My Son Leaping Into a Natural CenoteMerida, Yucatan, Mexico

South Shore Winter SeascapeIceland

Winter LandscapeIceland

Saint Peter’s ChurchDublin, Ireland

Rock of CashelCounty Tipperary, Ireland

Field Notes: I’ve been a Canon shooter since 2009 when I switched from film to digital technology. Before that I shot mostly Nikon, Leica and Rolleiflex. Later in 2017 I refreshed most of my photographic kit. Here is a list of the gear I used to capture these images, both old and new. Camera bodies: Canon EOS 5D Mark II, Canon EOS 5D Mark IV and Canon EOS 7D Mark II. Camera lenses: EF 16-35mm f/4L IS USM, EF 24-70mm f/4L IS USM, EF 400mm f/5.6L USM and EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM. My EOS 5D Mark II and EF 400mm f/5.6L USM now belong to my son. SFD

11 responses to “Twelve of My Favourite Photos From 2017

  1. “My son leaping…” and “South Shore” are my two favorites; however all are very well done!

    Happy New Year my friend!

    Mark

    • You swim to the edge of the pit and climb out and walk up a long winding path to get to the surface again. The young man who jumped after him landed wrong and really messed up his back but didn’t break anything. You can do almost anything in Yucatan, Mexico but it’s at your own risk. My brother and I have been trekking the world for six years (on the cheap) with just our rucksacks and my Pelican camera case. We’re old geezers but we’re having a BLAST. Start small and go from there as your experience increases but be warned . . . world travel is VERY addictive. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.